Nairn County 3
Banks o' Dee 0
League (HFL)

Nairn County
3 - 0
Banks o' Dee 

League (HFL)
Saturday, January 7th, 2023
Station Park
3:00 PM Kick-off

Kenny McKenzie (17)
Ross Tokely (22)
Andrew Greig (41)

Team Managers
Ronnie Sharp
Jamie Watt and Roy McBain

Starting Eleven
Dylan Maclean
Fraser Dingwall
Stephen Rennie
Ross Tokely
Callum Maclean
Kenny McKenzie
Sam Gordon
Wayne Mackintosh
Andrew Greig
Ciaran Young
Angus Dey
Ross Salmon
Ali Stark
Jason Selbie
Kacper Lewecki
Neale Allan
Paul Lawson
Magnus Watson
Matthew Wallace
Jack Henderson
Mark Gilmour
Robert Armstrong

Lewis Munro
Cameron Lisle
Steven Mackay
Lewis Mitchell
Aidan Cruickshank
Liam Shewan
Scott Davidson
Andrew Shearer
Lachie Macleod
Michael Philipson
Craig Macaskill
Matthew Robertson
Hamish Macleod
Lewis Crosbie

Scott Davidson for Ciaran Young (37)
Aidan Cruickshank for Sam Gordon (60)
Liam Shewan for Kenny McKenzie (85)
Michael Philipson for Paul Lawson (46)
Lachie Macleod for Jack Henderson (63)
Hamish Macleod for Neale Allan (70)

None. None.

Red Cards
None. None.
Match Officials

Gordon Morrison (Referee)
Rhys Jones & Stuart MacGregor (Assistants)

Match Report

An explosive opening forty five minutes from the home side blew away any hopes of Banks O’Dee clawing their way back into the match.

Manager Steven Mackay named the same starting eleven who had defeated Clachnacuddin five days earlier. Dee lined up with former Formartine United and Ross County midfielder Paul Lawson anchoring the visitors engine room. This was the first meeting between the teams at Station Park.

The home side opened on the offensive with the visitors seen little in an attacking sense. A fine move involving Andrew Greig and the impressive Angus Dey ended with the former knocking a right foot effort wide of the far post.

The home side continued to push forward at every opportunity and they were rewarded after 17 minutes. Kenny McKenzie and winger Andrew Greig combined down the left, with McKenzie racing onto a superb through ball to beat the advancing Ross Salmon with a superb left foot finish for the opener.

The home side had their tails up, and they deservedly doubled their lead with a goal of real quality midway through the first period. The visitors failed to clear following a corner the clearance was met by Ross Tokely who swept a superb 25 yard volley high into the net before the keeper could move.

The visitors were failing to gather any momentum and any sort of foot hold in the match, and they fell further behind with three minutes of the first period remaining. Again the damage was done the left flank, and when Andrew Greig took a pass at the edge of the box – his superbly struck right foot effort curled home at the far post – with Salmon beat all ends up.

In contrast, the second period saw the visitors start on the front foot, with Magnus Watson in particular showing his pace down the right flank, however, found Stephen Rennie in fine form.

Three minutes into the second period a Nairn counter attack ended with an Andrew Greig cross being knocked against the base of the post by Scottie Davidson, with Ross Salmon beaten.

Six minutes later, a long through ball from man of the match, Ross Tokely saw Scott Davidson race clear with the Dee keeper racing from his area. The striker touched the ball past the keeper, but watched agonisingly as his effort carried just wide of the post.

Twelve minutes from time the home side almost added a fourth when Angus Dey was unlucky with an effort from the edge of the box, that brought an excellent save from the keeper at full stretch.

Overall this was a superb win for the County who, particularly during the opening period. Too a man they played their part in what was a tremendous result. The three goals were superbly executed with Ross Tokely’s in particular definitely a contender for goal of the season.

The unbeaten run is extended to nine matches. Second placed Buckie Thistle are the visitors to Station Park this weekend, the scene is set for a cracking encounter.

Match report written by Nairn County FC

Squad Statistics (as at January 7th, 2023)

2022-23 All Time
Dylan Maclean (GK)26 14 - 133 -
Fraser Dingwall24 151838
Stephen Rennie25 10 - 10 -
Callum Maclean31 12116915
Ross Tokely43 8181
Kenny McKenzie30 1111819
Wayne Mackintosh35 12 - 34425
Sam Gordon23 141423
Ciaran Young21 1564215
Andrew Greig29 185327
Angus Dey28 192736
Scott Davidson (sub)28 1634411
Liam Shewan (sub)27 1937519
Aidan Cruickshank (sub)17 2 - 2 -

League Table (as at January 7th, 2023)

No league table has been added for this season.