Nairn County 0
Fraserburgh 4
League (HFL)

Nairn County
0 - 4

League (HFL)
Saturday, August 27th, 2022
Station Park
3:00 PM Kick-off

None. Scott Barbour (pen.) (39)
Kieran Simpson (63)
Logan Watt (69)
Paul Campbell (pen.) (84)

Team Managers
Ronnie Sharp
Mark Cowie

Starting Eleven
Dylan Maclean
Glenn Main
John Grant
Adam Porritt
Stephen Rennie
Gordon McNab
Cameron Lisle
Conor Gethins
Scott Davidson
Angus Dey
Liam Shewan
Joe Barbour
Ross Aitken
Connor Wood
Logan Watt
Kieran Simpson
Paul Young
Jamie Beagrie
William West
Ryan Sargent
Greg Buchan
Scott Barbour

Will Counsell
Callum Maclean
Nathan Grant
Seamus McConaghy
Rory Williamson
Ciaran Young
Kieran Duffty
Sam Inglis
Lewis Davidson
Ryan Cowie
Paul Campbell
Aidan Combe
Jordan Guild
Sean Butcher

Callum Maclean for Stephen Rennie (38)
Ciaran Young for Angus Dey (59)
Rory Williamson for Conor Gethins (76)
Paul Campbell for Ryan Sargent (59)
Aidan Combe for Paul Young (71)
Jordan Guild for Connor Wood (71)

Glenn Main (51)
Conor Gethins (71)
Ross Aitken (51)

Red Cards
None. None.
Match Officials

Gordon Seago (Referee)
Jeremie Fernandes & Douglas Tucker (Assistants)

Match Report

County went into their meeting with reigning Highland League Champions Fraserburgh, having to make two changes from the side that had to settle for a share of the points from their encounter with Deveronvale last week.

Full back Kenny Mackenzie and flying winger Andrew Greig both missed the match through injury with a trialist coming into the starting line-up at left back, while Gordon Macnab came into the midfield in place of the former Brora Rangers and Formartine United winger.

The visitors were first to threaten when Willie West burst into the box, and tested Dylan Maclean with a powerful header that the keeper held confidently after just seven minutes.

County retaliated, within two minutes and a scorching run and shot from striker Scott Davidson from 15 yards beat Joe Barbour all ends up but came crashing back of the crossbar with the keeper a spectator as the home side gave warning of their intentions.

Midway through the opening period Logan Watt flashed a 25- yard drive inches past the far post as the tempo increased from both sides. Then came the games opener, and it was the visitors who were to open the scoring with what can only be described as a dubious award.

Connor Wood and Adam Porritt clashed at the junction of the box, with referee Gordon Seago pointing immediately to the penalty spot amid claims from the Nairn players. When the dust had settled Scott Barbour swept home the resultant spot kick award, sending keeper Maclean the wrong way in the process.

Three minutes later, the Nairn keeper distinguished himself again, with a superb point blank save to deny scorer Barbour a second effort.

The opening stages of the second period saw the home side come out in defiant mood, and three minutes in they almost levelled when Conor Gethins released Scott Davidson at the edge of the box, but after rounding Barbour knocked his final effort wide of the post when in good position.

With the tempo and exchanges becoming heated, an incident on the touchline in front of the main stand resulted in both Glenn Main and Fraserburgh’s Greg Buchan cautioned, although the Broch midfielder should count himself lucky not to have received a more warranted punishment for his part in the incident.

However, the visitors forged further ahead after 65 minutes, when Keiran Simpson bulleted home a powerful header following a Barbour corner. Four minutes later they added a third, when a faulty clearance from Dylan Maclean found Logan Watt at the edge of the box, with the Fraserburgh man knocking the ball into an empty net.

Things got even worse for the Wee County when they conceded a fourth effort with nine minutes remaining. Scott Barbour was adjudged to have been upended just inside the box. Paul Campbell swept home the resultant spot kick – to leave the home side still looking for their opening league win of the season.

Match report written by Nairn County FC

Squad Statistics (as at August 27th, 2022)

2022-23 All Time
Dylan Maclean (GK)26 7 - 126 -
Adam Porritt28 7 - 13116
Glenn Main37 6 - 48822
Stephen Rennie25 2 - 2 -
John Grant20 3 - 3 -
Cameron Lisle24 6 - 162
Gordon McNab34 2 - 305
Angus Dey28 71615
Conor Gethins38 5 - 230189
Liam Shewan27 716317
Scott Davidson28 71359
Callum Maclean (sub)30 3 - 16014
Rory Williamson (sub)18 31295
Ciaran Young (sub)20 413110

League Table (as at August 27th, 2022)

No league table has been added for this season.