Nairn County 4
Clachnacuddin 3
League (HFL)

Nairn County
4 - 3

League (HFL)
Saturday, September 19th, 2015
Station Park
3:00 PM Kick-off

Conor Gethins (24)
Alan Pollock (27)
Conor Gethins (pen.) (82)
Conor Gethins (pen.) (89)
Michael Morrison (o.g.) (31)
Blair Lawrie (38)
Colin Maclean (pen.) (63)

Team Managers
Les Fridge
Iain Polworth

Starting Eleven
Calum Antell
Glenn Main
Paul Macleod
Michael Morrison
Wayne Mackintosh
Adam Naismith
Alan Pollock
Gregg Main
John Cameron
Conor Gethins
Robbie Duncanson
Error Watson
Ryan Mackintosh
Michael Finnis
Calum Macdonald
David McGurk
Fraser Robertson
Blair Lawrie
Martin Callum
Keith Mason
Ryan Ingram
Daniel McLennan

Dylan Maclean
Andrew Skinner
Seán Webb
Bradley Halsman
Kenny McKenzie
Ross Naismith
Sam Urquhart
Jamie Doran
Mikey Grimes
Scott Davidson
Sean Fitzpatrick
Colin Maclean
Stephen Mackenzie
Inakj Fernandino Sato

Sam Urquhart for Robbie Duncanson (65)
Kenny McKenzie for Glenn Main (75)
Colin Maclean for Fraser Robertson (55)
Sean Fitzpatrick for Keith Mason (75)
Scott Davidson for Daniel McLennan (85)

Gregg Main (57)
Michael Morrison (62)
Calum Macdonald (89)
Blair Lawrie (89)
Martin Callum (89)

Red Cards
None. None.
Match Officials

David Watt (Referee)

Match Report

CONOR Gethins bagged a remarkable late double to complete his hat trick and turn this derby on its head at Station Park as County edged out Clachnacuddin by four goals to three, writes Graeme Macleod.

Midfielder Callum Maclean missed out for County after limping off half-an-hour into Wednesday night’s cup semi final win at Forres Mechanics with his place into the team going to the player who took over from him in midweek, Wayne Mackintosh.

After an even open period, County raced into a two-goal lead only for the visitors to peg them back to two apiece just as quickly.

The opener came 24 minutes in when right back Glenn Main collected the ball from Alan Pollock’s switch from the left and drove forward. His shot was blocked by a defender but fell perfectly for Gregg Main to send a curling effort off the face of the crossbar with Conor Gethins on hand to nod in the opener from close range.

And it was 2-0 to the hosts just three minutes later. County broke forward off a Clachnacuddin corner with Robbie Duncanson driving forward before slipping the ball to the left at the perfect time for Alan Pollock to cut inside a defender and place his shot in the bottom right hand corner.

But Clach halved the deficit on 31 minutes with Michael Morrison sending the ball beyond his own goalkeeper Calum Antell with a flashing header that flew into the top left hand corner of the net as he attempted to defender Martin Callum’s in-swinging free kick from a deep position on the right.

The visitors completed their comeback just seven minutes later. Blair Lawrie beat Michael Morrison to a pass inside from the right and stepped away from the stranded centre half before lifting an exquisite chip over the head of Antell.

Clach had the first sight of goal of the second half on the hour as Daniel McLennan anticipated a flick on to give himself a sniff but Paul Macleod was on hand to make a decisive close range block and take the sting out of the centre forward’s effort.

And the visitors completed their turnaround on 63 minutes from the penalty spot. John Cameron tripped Daniel McLennan in the box and substitute Colin Maclean coolly stroked the ball home from 12 yards.

Nairn were back on level terms with eight minutes to go though after substitute Kenny McKenzie jinked past a defender and was tripped in the penalty area. Referee David Watt awarded the second penalty of the game and Conor Gethins blasted home to restore parity.

County went back in front with a dramatic last minute penalty. McKenzie’s free kick into the box was handled by Calum Macdonald and Conor Gethins stepped up to net his third of the afternoon and complete a remarkable derby at Station Park as Nairn took all three points with a 4-3 win.

Match report written by Graeme Macleod

Squad Statistics (as at September 19th, 2015)

2015-16 All Time
Calum Antell (GK)23 10 - 39 -
Michael Morrison35 9 - 14019
Glenn Main30 12 - 28312
Paul Macleod26 4 - 1203
Adam Naismith26 9 - 927
Alan Pollock25 103608
Wayne Mackintosh27 4 - 29415
Gregg Main28 12 - 25721
Robbie Duncanson31 11224778
John Cameron26 12212732
Conor Gethins31 1111159153
Kenny McKenzie (sub)23 8181
Sam Urquhart (sub)24 10 - 4819

League Table (as at September 19th, 2015)

No league table has been added for this season.